# Agenda of the Faculty Senate Meeting February 22, 2022 WebEx, 11:30 AM-1:30 PM

#### I. <u>Convening of the Meeting – Ellen Thomas, Vice President</u>

### II. Approval of Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting on February 8<sup>th</sup>

#### III. <u>Report of the Faculty Senate President</u>

- a. FS meeting March 8<sup>th</sup>
- b. April IFM
- c. CFO Cathy Brennan
- d. Faculty mask survey
- e. Emailing entire faculty can anyone do it for any purpose, proper channels
- f. Discussion of role and workload of FS President, VP, and EC

#### IV. Informatics update (Amit Bose)

a. <u>Motion:</u> To address the failure by the Informatics Department to act in accordance with its bylaws, and to ensure that shared governance principles are upheld, the faculty senate EC will provide an independent parliamentarian to the informatics department meeting scheduled for 2/23/2022. This independent parliamentary will ensure that faculty can raise and vote on issues of concern without fear of intimidation. (Q. Jones)

#### V. <u>President Vote</u>

- a. Nominees:
  - i. David Horntrop

#### VI. <u>EC Vote</u>

- a. Nominees:
  - i. Yehoshua Perl
  - ii. Ashish Borgaonkar
  - iii. Dan Bunker
  - iv. Roy Goodman

#### VII. Update on Pandemic Steering Committee (Andrew Christ)

- VIII. <u>CUE report and motions see report (David Horntrop)</u>
- IX. <u>Motion by Yehoshua Perl:</u> The Senate supports the calling of a special meeting of NJIT faculty ASAP to discuss and vote on no-confidence in President Bloom (Dr. Perl's report on rationale forthcoming)
- X. <u>New business</u>

# Minutes of the Faculty Senate February 22, 2022 WebEx, 11:30AM-1:30PM

- 1. <u>Convening of the Meeting</u> The meeting started at 11:34AM
- <u>Voting Members Present</u>: Y. Perl, I. Gatley, A. Gerbessiotis, X. Ding, D. Horntrop, M. Bandelt, M. Vinnikov, A. Kosovichev, E. Thomas, B. Khusid, G. Esperdy, L. Rodriguez-Freire, R. Goodman, H. Grebel, P. Armenante, A. Borgaonkar, J. Shi, Q. Jones, S. Cai, F. Ahmadpoor, R. Rojas-Cessa, A. Zarzycki, N. Steffen, D. Bunker, Y. Young, U. Roshan, E. Farinas, N. Maher, S. Adamovich
- <u>Non-Voting Members Present</u>: J. Bonchi, A. Dhawan, M. Stanko, O. Tukel, M. Kam, B. Baltzis, J. Sodhi, A. Hoang. C. Gotsman, K. Belfield, F. Deek, B. Kolarevic, K. Sandell, M. Sharobim, L. Hamilton, D. Kornegay
- <u>Guests Present</u>: Andrew Christ (Real Estate), Cristian Borcea (Computer Science), Dale McLeod (Human Resources), David Bader (Computer Science), Laurent Simon (Undergraduate Studies), Amitabha Bose (Mathematical Sciences), Catherine Brennan (CFO), Jeremy Reich (OIE), Bhavna Vij (Business Information Systems), Salam Daher (Informatics), Marybeth Boger (Dean of Students), Amy Hoover (Informatics), Alan Yan (MTSM), Sotiri Ziavras (Graduate Studies), Daphne Soares (Biological Sciences), Cesar Bandera (MTSM), Melodi Guilbault (MTSM)
- Approval of the February 8 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Motion to approve the minutes by D. Horntrop and seconded by A. Gerbessiotis. The minutes were approved unanimously.
- 6. <u>Report of the Faculty Senate President</u>

E. Thomas gave her report: March 8 Meeting will be in person with Dr. Lim in attendance. April IFM will have Provost Deek make a presentation to the Faculty with reception to follow. The April date is still to be determined. CFO Cathy Brennan was introduced and will make a presentation at another Faculty Meeting. Issue of emailing entire faculty- can anyone do it for any purpose and what are the proper channels. Discussion of role and workload of Faculty Senate President, Vice President, and Executive Committee.

7. Informatics Update (Amit Bose)

Amit Bose presented on a motion made by Q. Jones to have a special Informatics faculty meeting.

Motion: To address the failure by the Informatics Department to act in accordance with its bylaws, and to ensure that shared governance principles are upheld, the faculty senate EC will provide an independent parliamentarian to the informatics department meeting scheduled for 2/23/2022. This independent parliamentary will ensure that faculty can raise and vote on issues of concern without fear of intimidation.

The motion was seconded by E. Thomas. Discussion with Q&A followed. The motion was passed with 18 yes, 1 no, and 3 abstentions.

- 8. <u>President Vote</u> David Horntrop was the only nominee and was approved unanimously as President.
- 9. <u>Executive Committee Vote</u> Nominees: Yehoshua Perl, Ashish Borgaonkar, and Roy Goodman. All three nominees gave a statement as to why they want to be on the Executive Committee. Ashish Borgaonkar and Roy Goodman were voted as Executive Committee members with 14 votes for Yehoshua, 18 votes for Ashish, and 20 votes for Roy.

# 10. Update on Pandemic Steering Committee (Andrew Christ)

Andrew Christ gave an update on the Pandemic Steering Committee and status of the University. Booster shots: 90% compliance with students. Have registration restrictions if they do not compl. Not going to retract the booster mandate. Vaccine and Booster exemption decisions are more conservative with the major religions coming out in support of vaccines. Goal is to reach 97/98% compliance overall. Mask Mandate: NJ is relaxing the mask mandate for K-12 schools on March 7. Survey was sent to instructional staff and students to gauge opinions. The results of this survey will be discussed at the next pandemic steering committee. Q&A followed.

11. <u>CUE Report and motions (David Horntrop)</u>

Minor in Materials Engineering: Motion to approve by D. Horntrop and seconded by E. Thomas. Motion was approved unanimously.
Minor in Grand Challenges of Engineering: Motion to approve by D. Horntrop and seconded by A. Borgaonkar. Motion was approved unanimously.
BS in Civil Engineering: Motion to approve by D. Horntrop and seconded by M. Bandelt. Motion was approved unanimously.

12. Motion by Yehoshua Perl

Y. Perl presented his motion. Motion: The Senate supports the calling of a special meeting of NJIT faculty ASAP to discuss and vote on a no-confidence in President Bloom. Motion to approve by Y. Perl and seconded by A. Gerbessiotis. Q&A with discussion followed. Call to question the motion by A. Borgaonkar and seconded by R. Goodman. The motion was not approved with 9 yes, 13 no, and 1 abstention.

13. <u>New Business</u>

Emailing the entire faculty and option of opting out of emails.

The meeting ended at 1:13PM with a motion to adjourn by A. Borgaonkar and seconded by Q. Jones