Composition of the Master’s Thesis Committee

The Master’s thesis committee consists of a minimum of three members. The majority of the committee members are tenured or tenure-track faculty from the student's program or department having research experience or developing research interests related to the student’s research. The committee chairperson typically is the student's Master’s thesis advisor. All members of the dissertation committee are members of NJIT's Graduate Faculty (

The Master’s degree program director and the department chairperson are responsible for approving initially the formation of the student’s committee. The committee must be approved by the Vice Provost for Graduate Studies and Dean of the Graduate Faculty before scheduling the student’s Master’s thesis defense.