NJIT News Room

Looking for something?
Search Newsroom
RSS Feed
Contact Information: Tanya Klein Public Relations 973-596-3433

Cory Booker To Speak at NJIT’s Upcoming Convocation

New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) will hold Sept. 6, 2006, University Convocation, an annual celebration and awards ceremony to mark the start of the academic year. The event is set for 3 p.m., in the Jim Wise Theater in NJIT’s Kupfrian Hall.

The event recognizes students, faculty, staff and alumni. A reception follows for honorees. Newark Mayor Cory Booker will be the keynote speaker. John Seazholtz, of Brick Township, a 1959 graduate of Newark College of Engineering and retired chief technology officer of Bell Atlantic Corporation, will receive a professional achievement medal.

The ceremony begins honoring eight teachers who have demonstrated excellence in the classroom and encouraged students to do their best work. The teachers are: Filippo Posta, of New York City, a doctoral student in the department of mathematical sciences; Stephen Orosz, PhD, an adjunct professor in the department of chemical engineering; Louise Castronova, of Newark, a special lecturer in the department of humanities. Also receiving the award are Amitabha Bose,  PhD, of Brooklyn, a professor in the department of mathematical sciences; Ali Abdi, PhD, assistant professor in the department of  electrical and computer engineering; and Bruce Bukiet, PhD, of West Orange, an associate professor in the department of mathematical sciences. Others include Methi Wecharatana, PhD, professor in the department of civil and environmental engineering and Haimin Wang, PhD, of Livingston, a distinguished professor in the department of physics.

To be named a master teacher is the university’s most prestigious recognition. Receiving that honor are Norbert Elliot, PhD, of Little Egg Harbor, a professor in the department of humanities; S. Roxanne Hiltz, PhD, of Randolph, a professor in the department of information systems; Rajiv Mehta, PhD, of Perth Amboy, a professor in the NJIT School of Management.

Two NJIT students will receive the president’s award and one will receive a memorial scholarship. Presidential award winners are Peter Beltran, of Belleville, a biology student and Lori Anne Jones, of Edison, an architecture student. The Peter Small Memorial Scholarship Award winner is Ian Buchanan, of Mount Olive, an engineering technology student.

Nancy Steffen-Fluhr, PhD, of Newfoundland, an associate professor in the department of humanities, will receive the Constance A. Murray Diversity Award.

Dale Gary, PhD, of Berkeley Heights, a professor in the department of physics and Haim Grebel, PhD, of Livingston, a professor in the department of electrical and computer engineering will receive the Harlan J. Perlis Award for Research.  Jerome Paris, PhD, of New York, a special lecturer in humanities, and Anthony Schuman, of Montclair, an associate professor in the New Jersey School of Architecture, will receive a public service award.

NJIT, New Jersey's science and technology university, enrolls approximately 10,000 students pursuing bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in 120 programs. The university consists of six colleges: Newark College of Engineering, College of Architecture and Design, College of Science and Liberal Arts, School of Management, College of Computing Sciences and Albert Dorman Honors College. U.S. News & World Report's 2012 Annual Guide to America's Best Colleges ranked NJIT in the top tier of national research universities. NJIT is internationally recognized for being at the edge in knowledge in architecture, applied mathematics, wireless communications and networking, solar physics, advanced engineered particulate materials, nanotechnology, neural engineering and e-learning. Many courses and certificate programs, as well as graduate degrees, are available online through the Division of Continuing Professional Education.