NJIT News Room

Looking for something?
Search Newsroom
RSS Feed
Contact Information: Tanya Klein Public Relations 973-596-3433

More than 100 High Schoolers To Flood NJIT This Friday for Programming Comp

More than 120 New Jersey high school students from 40 private and public schools (see list below) will compete for the title of New Jersey’s best future computer programmers when NJIT runs its annual contest April 18, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. in the NJIT Campus Center.

More than 40 New Jersey high schools will compete in teams of up to three students each. Each team will receive two-and-a-half hours to solve seven programming problems. The teams’ performances are ranked according to the number of correct programs they submit within the predefined time period. The best teams win prizes and awards. View a previous competition at http://youtube.com/watch?v=PH6xdDXY7JU.

Editor’s Note: For parking reservations, call Rosalyn Roberts, (973) 596-3433.  Winners will be announced from 4-5 p.m. that day. Staff members will be available to phone in results if reporters can’t stay. This event is a terrific photo and writing opportunity with plenty of hooting and hollering.  Kids love it.

The first-place winning team will receive a $500 award for its high school. Each team member will receive either $4,000 applicable to NJIT tuition or $400 in cash plus an IBM personal digital assistant. The second-place team receives a $300 cash award for its high school. Each member will win either $2,000 toward tuition at NJIT or a $200 cash award. The third-place team will receive a $300 dollar cash award for its high school, and each member will get either $1,000 in NJIT tuition or a $100 cash award. Participating teams will receive two free copies of Java textbooks. For details, please visit http://cs.njit.edu/contest/ or call Sarah Vandermark, (973) 596-2985.

Participating high schools are: Archmere Academy, Claymont; Bergen Catholic HS, Oradell; Brick Memorial HS, Brick; Chatham HS, Chatham; Cumberland Regional HS,  Seabrook; East Side HS, Newark; East Side HS, Paterson; Egg Harbor Township HS,  Egg Harbor Township; Fair Lawn HS, Fair Lawn.

Others include: Fort Lee HS, Fort Lee; Freehold HS, Freehold; Glen Ridge HS, Glen Ridge; Horace Mann School, Bronx, NY; Hunterdon Central Regional HS, Flemington; Mainland Regional HS, Linwood; Middlesex Academy, Edison.

Still more are Middletown High School South, Middletown; Millburn HS, Millburn; Monroe Township HS, Monroe; Montgomery HS, Skillman; Moorestown Friends School, Moorestown; Newark Academy, Livingston; North Hunterdon HS, Annandale; Oak Knoll School, Summit.

Other high schools are: Ocean County Vocational Technical, Toms River; Ocean Township HS, Oakhurst; Old Bridge HS, Matawan; Paramus Catholic HS, Paramus; Parsippany Hills HS,  Parsippany; Pemberton Township HS, Pemberton; Red Bank Regional HS, Little Silver; Ridgewood HS, Ridgewood.

More include: Rutgers Preparatory School, Somerset; South Plainfield High School, South Plainfield; Teaneck HS, Teaneck; Timothy Christian HS,  Piscataway; Villa Walsh Academy,  Randolph; Voorhees HS, Glen Gardner; Wayne Hills HS, Wayne; West Windsor Plainsboro HS South, Princeton Junction.

NJIT, New Jersey's science and technology university, enrolls approximately 10,000 students pursuing bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in 120 programs. The university consists of six colleges: Newark College of Engineering, College of Architecture and Design, College of Science and Liberal Arts, School of Management, College of Computing Sciences and Albert Dorman Honors College. U.S. News & World Report's 2012 Annual Guide to America's Best Colleges ranked NJIT in the top tier of national research universities. NJIT is internationally recognized for being at the edge in knowledge in architecture, applied mathematics, wireless communications and networking, solar physics, advanced engineered particulate materials, nanotechnology, neural engineering and e-learning. Many courses and certificate programs, as well as graduate degrees, are available online through the Division of Continuing Professional Education.