Memorandum

To: President Bloom, Senior Staff, & Faculty Council;

From: Fadi P. Deek, Provost and Senior Executive Vice President

Re: Memorandum on Faculty Senate Release Time

Date: January 8, 2014

This memorandum outlines the release time to be accorded members of the Faculty Senate, beginning September 1, 2014.

As stated in Section 13.4.2 of the Constitution of the Faculty Senate, "Voting members of the Faculty Senate shall receive appropriate release time from teaching assignments, proportionate to their senate duties and responsibilities." The following stipulations relate to this directive:

- a) Release Time Policy for Voting Members of the Faculty Senate
 - i. Faculty members who serve as voting members in the Faculty Senate shall be entitled to receive one credit of release time from teaching for every year served during a three-year term.
 - ii. The release time shall normally be taken as a one course (3-credit) course reduction during the third year of a three-year term in the Faculty Senate.
- b) Release Time Policy for the Vice-President of the Faculty Senate
 - The Vice-President of the Faculty Senate shall be entitled to receive one course (3 credits) of release time from teaching during each semester served in this office.
 - ii. A faculty member who serves at least one year as Vice-President of the Faculty Senate shall not also be entitled to receive the three credits of release time from teaching that are granted to faculty members who serve a three-year term of office as voting members in the Faculty Senate (section 1.a. above).
- c) Release Time Policy for the President of the Faculty Senate
 - i. The President of the Faculty Senate shall be entitled to receive one course of release time from teaching during each semester served in this office.
 - ii. A faculty member who serves at least one year as President of the Faculty Senate shall not also be entitled to receive the three credits of release time from teaching that are granted to faculty members who serve a three-year term of office as voting members in the Faculty Senate (section 1.a. above).