Registrar

Fall Registration Instructions

Table of Contents
Academic Calendar -NJIT New Jersey Tuition Rate Eligibility
Academic Calendar-Rutgers-Newark Registration Assistance
Advisor Approval Registration Calendar
Applying for Graduation Registration For New Transfer Students
Cross Registration: Essex County College Registration For Non-Matriculated Students
Cross Registration: Rutgers-Newark Registration Priority
Cross Registration University of Medicine and Dentistry Register for Project, Thesis or Doctoral Dissertation
Disabled Students Registration for Rutgers Courses
Family Education Rights to Privacy Act Registration / Study Abroad
Graduation Refunds and Withdrawals
Graduate Courses For Undergraduate Students Schedule Changes & Fees
Late Registration & Fees Sexual Harassment Policy
Maintaining Registration Tuition and Fees
Veterans

Registration Information

Visiting and current NJIT students should consult with their academic advisor to be certain that courses taken during the summer conform to the requirements of their course of study.  Credit earned during the summer will be applied toward all degrees granted by the New Jersey Institute of Technology and may be transferred to colleges and universities throughout the country.

Registration Priority

The Registration period for all students is scheduled according to class year.  Class year represents the total credits earned at NJIT including currently enrolled credits (this does not include any Rutgers or ECC courses) in addition to any transfer credit using the formula listed below.

Undergraduate Graduate
Freshman 0-28 Credits 1st Year Graduate 0-7 Credits
Sophomores 29-56 Credits 2nd Year Graduate 8-15 Credits
Juniors 57-90 Credits 3rd Year Graduate 16-22 Credits
Seniors 91+ Credits 4th Year Graduate 22+ Credits


Registration Calendar

Registration will begin in March All registration will take place via the Highlander Pipeline following the schedule listed below.

Seniors & M4 March 31
Juniors & M3 April 1
Sophomores & M2 April 2
Freshman & M1 April 3
All NJIT & Non-Matric Students April 4


Late Registration--For Continuing Students ($100 Fee): July 1, 2014
Late Registration--New Students ($100 Fee) September 2, 2014
Schedule Change with a Fee ($25):  September 2, 2014


GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

University policies and procedures are outlined in the NJIT log  and NJIT graduate and undergraduate catalogues. Students are responsible for awareness of and adherence to these policies and procedures.

Return to Table of Contents


STUDENT'S REGISTRATION RESPONSIBILITY

If you choose to have a fellow student, friend, spouse or relative register on your behalf, you are responsible for all financial and academic obligations associated with your registration.


ADVISOR'S APPROVAL

In order to register for the current semester all students must meet with an advisor and have their registration approved. Contact your department for specific instructions. Students registering without the necessary approval may have their registration canceled.


NEW TRANSFER STUDENTS

Contact your academic department to determine the advisor’s availability. In addition, academic advisors will be available during transfer orientation, which will occur in July and August. Information about transfer orientation will be mailed to all new students.


MAINTAINING REGISTRATION

Students presently maintaining registration should access the Registrar web site at Registrar Online to view the course schedule and registration information.

Students who intend to maintain registration must choose for the course id MR--Maintaining Registration and register for the appropriate section via Highlander Pipeline.

Graduate Students

Graduate Students enrolled in a degree program who find it necessary to temporarily discontinue their studies are permitted to maintain registration with approval of the office of Graduate Studies for a fee of $50 for each semester they do not register and for a maximum of two consecutive semesters. Students working on project, thesis or dissertation are generally not permitted to register for maintaining registration. International students on F-1 and J-1 visa status may not maintain registration unless they have obtained prior written permission from the Office of International Students and Faculty.

Each semester in which registration is maintained is counted in the total time period allotted to complete degree requirements except for students with an approved leave of absence. The Graduate Studies Office and the academic department will generally place registration holds on students who maintain registration for two semesters or more.


GRADUATE STUDENTS REGISTERING FOR PROJECT, THESIS OR DISSERTATION

Students must have their advisor's signature and section number each time they register for project, thesis or dissertation. Students who choose the option of spreading their project, thesis or dissertation over several semesters will have the final grade posted in the semester in which the work is completed.  Students are not permitted to maintain registration while working on project, thesis or dissertation. If the topic is not final, you must obtain tentative approval and register before the late registration date to avoid a late fee (See Graduate catalog for policy).

NOTE: International Students: Extended project or thesis registration may not be allowable for students (such as those on F-1 or J-1 visas) who must maintain full-time status each semester. Please consult the Graduate Studies office if you require information on full-time certification.

Return to Table of Contents


GRADUATE COURSES FOR UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS

Undergraduate students may register for graduate courses, 500 level or higher, only with the written approval of the undergraduate advisor and written approval of the graduate program advisor for the program offering the course. Tuition will be calculated at the undergraduate tuition rate and the credit applied to the undergraduate academic record.


CROSS REGISTRATION AT ESSEX COUNTY COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY OF MEDICINE AND DENTISTRY

Students cross registering will need two forms: the NJIT registration form and an Exchange Registration form, which can be obtained in the Registrar's office. Students cross registering must include the course(s) taken at Essex County, and UMDNJ (the host school) on their NJIT registration form when registering. List the same course(s) on the Exchange Registration form and obtain permission from the NJIT departmental representative. After obtaining approval, take the Exchange Registration form to the host school during their registration period. NJIT students adding, changing or withdrawing from courses at the host school must also complete a NJIT schedule change form and bring it to the NJIT Registrar's Office on the same date. All courses and all grades received at Essex County and UMDNJ are posted on the NJIT transcript.

Newark UMDNJ and ECC students follow the procedure noted above using the home school cross-registration approval forms.  Registrations will be processed in-person at the NJIT registrar's office on a space available basis.

Return to Table of Contents


CROSS REGISTRATION FOR COURSES AT RUTGERS-NEWARK

Registration for courses at Rutgers-Newark will take place only during the scheduled day registration hours. There will be no registration during evening hours.

All NJIT students registering for a course offered at the Newark Campus of Rutgers must report to the terminal designated RUTGERS REGISTRATION at the registration area in the Student Services Mall on the appropriate registration dates. Students must complete the registration form designated for Rutgers registration. All courses and all grades received at Rutgers-Newark are posted on the NJIT transcript.   Please review the Rutgers schedule of courses before attempting to register.

Please follow the link below to review the Rutgers schedule of courses before attempting to register.

http://registrar.newark.rutgers.edu/general-registration-information-undergraduate-students

Registration for Rutgers courses Student Mall:

NJIT students should print the Rutgers Cross registration form online and register in person at NJIT Registrar's Office.


FIRST TIME NON-MATRICULATED STUDENTS

Registration for Non-Matriculated Students via Highlander Pipeline Begins April 16 - September 7

Students planning to attend NJIT as non-matriculated students must complete the application for non-matriculated students. Select the course(s) from the schedule of classes, complete the non-matric registration form and report with a copy of your college transcript to the University Admissions Office. Non-Matriculating student should refer to the registration calendar for registration dates.


CONTINUING NON-MATRICULATED STUDENTS

Registration for Non-Matriculated Students via Highlander Pipeline Begins April 16th

If you are a continuing non-matriculating student, you do NOT need to go to the Office of University Admissions prior to registration, PROVIDED you meet the following conditions:

  1. Including the courses you plan to take, you will not exceed 9 semester hours of graduate course work,  or 15 hours of undergraduate course work.
  2. You are in good academic standing (3.0 for graduate students, 2.0 for undergraduates).
  3. You receive permission from the departmental advisor (graduate courses only).
  4. Non-Matriculated students should refer to the registration calendar for registration dates

Return to Table of Contents


VETERANS

In order to be eligible for educational benefits for the term, all Veterans and members of the New Jersey National Guard must contact the Veterans Coordinator located in the Registrar's Office.

Return to Table of Contents


DISABLED STUDENTS

After you have selected your classes, you can contact the Counseling Center, 973-596-3414, to insure accessibility and availability of courses.

Return to Table of Contents


CANDIDATES FOR GRADUATION

Please refer to the graduation web site for information regarding applying for graduation.


TUITION AND FEES

A detailed statement of charges can be viewed via Highlander Pipeline.  Payment must be received by the due date printed on bill. Unpaid registration will be subject to cancellation and a late fee. Students are responsible for payment of tuition and fees and must monitor their billing status via Highlander Pipeline. Under no circumstances will canceled registrations be reinstated after semester classes have ended.

Graduate Tuition and Fees Undergraduate Tuition and Fees

Return to Table of Contents


NEW JERSEY TUITION RATE ELIGIBILITY

In order to pay the New Jersey resident tuition rate students must have been legal residents of New Jersey at the time of application or have established New Jersey as their legal domicile since the time of admission. Students falling into this category must complete and submit a residency analysis form to the Registrar. It is assumed that full-time non-resident students who subsequently move to New Jersey after admission to NJIT are moving to the state in order to attend school. These students will not be considered residents of the state for tuition purposes.

New Jersey Institute of Technology may waive, at its discretion, for U.S. citizens and permanent residents the additional tuition normally charged students who are not legal residents of New Jersey if they are employed full-time by an industrial firm or business located within New Jersey. The student's employer must certify, in writing, that the course of study pursued at NJIT will enhance their value to the firm or business. Certification must be submitted each semester with payment of tuition.


NJ TUITION BENEFIT FOR UNEMPLOYED PERSONS

Eligible students must register in-person on the first day of the semester on a space available basis.  See the Office of Financial Aid for additional information.

Return to Table of Contents


REFUNDS AND WITHDRAWALS

Students who withdraw from NJIT voluntarily will receive a tuition refund based upon the refund schedule. They cannot be made via telephone. There will be no refund of tuition and fees after the second week of the semester for partial withdrawals. Refunds will only be granted for complete withdrawal from the university after the second week of classes.

All course withdrawals are completed via Highlander Pipeline

Return to Table of Contents


SEXUAL HARASSMENT POLICY: New Jersey Institute of Technology has a policy against sexual harassment of students by faculty or non-instructional staff. Complaints by students should be brought to the Dean of Students. Copies of the policy and interpretation of the policy and procedures for responding to complaints are available from the Office of the Dean of Students.

Return to Table of Contents


FAMILY EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS AND PRIVACY ACT: The federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 gives students the right to inspect any educational records about them maintained by NJIT. Students have the right to a hearing to challenge the contents of these records, and also have the right to add to their records an explanation of information they challenge. Unless specifically exempted by the public law, NJIT is mandated to keep student records strictly confidential.

The Registrar of New Jersey Institute of Technology is responsible for student records. Educational records are defined as transcripts, admission files, and registration forms. To review their files, students must contact the Registrar, in writing, to specify the items they want to see. Student health records are maintained by the Director of Health Services and may only be examined by a health professional chosen by the student.

Educational records defined by the public law must be made available within 45 days after a student request to see them. A catalog of educational records kept by NJIT is available from the Registrar. Exceptions to the right of inspection include financial aid records and records of institutional, supervisory, and administrative personnel, and ancillary educational personnel.

Students may make copies of their records, except transcripts, for a nominal service fee.

Only those at NJIT acting in the student's interest are allowed access to student files, including personnel in the registrar's, admissions, student services, and finance offices; and academic personnel within the limitations of their need to know.

With the exceptions stated in the law, no one outside NJIT shall have access to a particular student's educational record without the written consent of the student, except in extraordinary circumstances such as emergencies. Accrediting agencies carrying out their accrediting function and certain state and federal officials are permitted access. A record of, and reasons for, granting access will be kept by the university and will be available to the student.

The institute, at its discretion, may provide directory information, in accordance with the provisions of the law including a student's name, address, telephone listing, date and place of birth, major field of study, participation in officially recognized activities and sports, weight and height of members of athletic teams, dates of attendance, degrees and awards received, and the most recent previous educational agency or institution attended by the student. Students who desire directory information to be withheld should notify the registrar in writing within the first two weeks of initial registration.

Request for non-disclosure will be honored by the institute for ONLY ONE ACADEMIC YEAR AT A TIME. Authorization to withhold directory information must be filed annually in the Office of the Registrar.

Students who disagree with an entry may challenge its accuracy with the Office of the Registrar. If this remedy fails, either NJIT or the student may request a formal appeal hearing. The law mandates that such hearings be held within 30 days of requests, and be conducted by a university official or other person with no direct interest in the outcome. Students will be given a full and fair opportunity to present relevant evidence and be represented by their own counsel.

Students may include a written statement in their file explaining a disputed entry following an unfavorable determination of an appeal. A written decision will be rendered within 15 working days after the hearing of an appeal.

Students who believe that they are treated unfairly or improperly and contrary to the provisions of the law may request, in writing, assistance from the President of the university. Students who believe that their rights have been abridged may file complaints with the appropriate federal agency.

Return to Table of Contents