Research Staff Assignments

Office of Research

Atam P. Dhawan
Senior Vice Provost for Research
(973) 596-8566
atam.p.dhawan@njit.edu

  • Chief Research Officer for the NJIT Research Enterprise
  • Executive Director Undergraduate Research Innovation


All University (Research Domain)

 

Director
Eric Hetherington
(973) 596-3631
eric.d.hetherington@njit.edu

  • Director for the SRA (Sponsored Research Administration) and GCA (Grant and Contract Accounting)
  • Contract Negotiation
  • Research Validation
  • Research Audits and Compliance


All University (Research Domain)

Sonia V. Henderson
Administrative Assistance
Office of Research OR
(973-642-4877
sonia.v.henderson@njit.edu

  • Administrative Support for the Office of Research
  • Event Planning and Coordination​


All University (Research Domain)

 

Director, Special Projects and Liaison to Graduate Studies
Daljit Singh Ahluwalia

(973) 596-4874
daljit.ahluwalia@njit.edu

  • Director for Special Projects and Liaison for Graduate Studies


All University (Research Domain)

 

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Office of Research
Suite 340, Fenster Hall
323 Martin Luther King Blvd.
Newark, NJ 07102-1982
Main Phone:  (973) 596-5275
Fax: (973) 596-6056

 

Sponsored Research Administration (SRA)

E-mail: srard@njit.edu  (Will deliver the message to everyone in SRA)

SRA Individual

Major Responsibilities                        

Area

Associate Director (Pre Award)
Justin Samolewicz
(973) 596-3145 
jsamolew@njit.edu

  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposals
  • Proposal Budgets
  • Award Set Up with Grants & Contracts
  • Newark College of Engineering (NCE)

All University (Back up I. Pantoja, J. Novoa, M. Petit & T. Bozza)

Assistant Director (Post Award)
Rose Federici
(973) 596-3428
rose.m.federici@njit.edu

  • Proposal logistics help
  • Subcontracts/Consultant agreements

     
  • Courtesy Appointments
  • Research Centers 

NJII
Business & Economic Development 

All university
All university

 

Project Manager
Felicia Margolies
(973) 596-5377

felicia.h.margolies@njit.edu

  • Pre & Post Award Actions & Financial Management
  • Subcontracts & Consulting Contracts
  • Project Manager on assigned Specific Projects
  • College of Science and Liberal Arts (CSLA)

Center For Solar Terrestrial Research


Physics Researches (Assigned Specific Projects)

Grant Specialist
Matthew Pettit
(973-596-5518)
matthew.l.pettit@njit.edu

 

  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposal logistics
  • Review RFP or BAA with faculty and staff for agency solicitations
  • Maintain templates & info sheets
  • Database: Annual Awards & Proposal Listings

 

All University (Research Domain)
Pre-College Programs

Grant Specialist
Thomas Bozza
(973-596-5352)
 bozza@njit.edu

  • Program Manager for Streamlyne implementation
  • Responsible for Streamlyne training
  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposal logistics


​All University (Research Domain)

Director Research, CSLA
Cristo Leon
(973-596-6425)
leonc@njit.edu

  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposal preparation and logistics
  • Review RFP or BAA with faculty and staff to respond to agency solicitations
  • Reports on Awards, Proposals, etc.
  • Courtesy Appointments For Visiting Scholars –PAFS and Post Award actions


College of Science and Liberal Arts (CSLA)

Grant Specialist
Jesus Novoa
973-642-4074
Jesus.novoa@njit.edu

  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposal logistics
  • Review RFP or BAA with faculty to respond to agency solicitations
  • Streamlyne and GCA IT functions
  • Ying Wu College of Computing (YWCC)


All university (Research Domain)
Back-up For YWCC

Project Manager, YWCC
Nancy Henderson
(973-596-5352)
nancy.henderson@njit.edu

  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposal preparation and logistics
  • Review RFP or BAA with faculty and staff to respond to agency solicitations
  • Reports on Awards, Proposals, etc.
  • Courtesy Appointments For Visiting Scholars – PAFs and Post Award actions


Ying Wu College of Computing (YWCC)

Director Research, NCE
John McCarthy
(973-596-3247)
john.p.mccarthy@njit.edu

  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposal preparation and logistics
  • Review RFP or BAA with faculty and staff to respond to agency solicitations
  • Reports on Awards, Proposals, etc.
  • Courtesy Appointments For Visiting Scholars-– PAFs and Post Award actions

Newark College of Engineering (NCE)

Project Manager, CoAD and MTSOM
Iris Pantoja
(973-642-4483)
iris.pantoja@njit.edu

 

  • Pre Award Actions
  • Proposal preparation and logistics
  • Review RFP or BAA with faculty and staff to respond to agency solicitations
  • Reports on Awards, Proposals, etc.
  • Courtesy Appointments For Visiting Scholars – PAFs and Post Award actions
  • Maintains Login Listing

College of Architecture and Design (CoAD)
Martin Tuchman School of Management (MTSOM)

Administrative Coordinator, Undergraduate Research & Innovation
Angela Retino
(973-596-5504)
angela.c.retino@njit.edu

  • Coordinator to the Undergraduate Research & Innovation (URI) programs
  • Planning and Managing URI
  • Coordinate URI Events
  • Resource for Institutional Review Board & Institutional Biosafety Committee

Undergraduate Research Innovation
All University (Research Domain)

 

Grant and Contract Accounting (GCA)

E-mail: gca@njit.edu  (Will deliver the message to everyone in GCA)

GCA Individual

Major Responsibilities

Area

Associate Director
Bobby Vadasserril
973-596-2941
bobbyv@njit.edu

  • GCA
  • Audits and Reports
  • Task Coordination 

Back Up: All University (GCA Domain)
ERC Award from NSF
Business and Technology Development
​New Jersey Innovation Institute

Assistant Director
Lian Cheng
973-596-5209
lian.cheng@njit.edu

  • GCA

College of Architecture and Design (CoAD)
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Center for Building Knowledge
Graduate Studies
Transportation Center
Center for Natural Resource Development & Protection (NRDP)
Center for Resilient Design

Accountant
Hattie
Yeung
973-596-5734
hiumui.yeung@njit.edu

  • GCA

Newark College of Engineering (Dean's Office)
​Chemical, Biological & Pharmaceutical Engineering
Center for Membrane Technologies 
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Engineering Technology (CIM)
Defense Procurement
Learning Center
NJ Transportation Plan Authority

Accountant
Darryl Rivera

973-596-5462
Darryl.J.Rivera@njit.edu

  • GCA

     

Martin Tuchman ​School of Management (MTSOM)
Ying Wu College of Computing (Dean's Office) 
Chemistry & Environmental Science
Computer Science
Engineering Technology
EOP
Humanities
Information Systems and IT
Pre-College Consortium
Pre-College Programs
Polymer Processing Institute (PPI)
Office of Academic Affairs
Library

Accountant
TBA

973-596-2945
Azhao@njit.edu

  • GCA

Biomedical Engineering
Center for Brain Injury
Center for Brain Imaging
Center for Solar Terrestrial Research

Accountant
Elvin Martinez

973-596-5738
Elvin.j.martinez@njit.edu

  • GCA

College of Science and Liberal Arts (Dean's Office)
Physics
Continuing Education
Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

 

Department of Intellectual Property and Patents *

DIPP Individual

Major Responsibilities

Area

Manager, Patents & Licensing Administration
Sangeeta Bafna
973-642-4295
sangeeta.bafna@njit.edu

 

  • Invention Disclosures
  • Patents
  • Licensing 

NJIT
New Jersey Innovation Institute (NJII)

Assistant General Counsel for Patents and Intellectual Property
Sanjiv M. Chokshi, Esq.
973-642-4285
Sanjiv.m.chokshi@njit.edu

 

  • Invention Disclosures
  • Provisional Patents
  • Full Patents
  • IP

NJIT
​New Jersey Innovation Institute (NJII)

* Jointly reporting to the Office of General Counsel


Research Information Systems ** 

RIS Individual

Major Responsibilities

Area

Director, Research Information Systems
Norma Rubio

973-596-6053
norma.rubio@njit.edu

  • Research and Grant Management
  • Information Systems

Research Information Systems
Streamlyne
Grant Management Information System
​Research Compliance Management Information System

* Jointly reporting to the Office of Information Services & Technology