Highlander Student Leadership Awards

About the Highlander Student Leadership Awards

The Highlander Student Leadership Awards Ceremony is a long standing tradition at NJIT that offers students the opportunity to be recognized and awarded for their campus leadership. The 21st annual ceremony was held on Wednesday, May 3, 2017 in the Campus Center Ballroom. Ceremony began at 1:00pm and ended at 2:00pm. A reception featuring catered foods and music was held afterwards in the Gallery.This is event is sponsored by the Offices of Campus Life and Dean of Students and funded by the Student Senate. The coordinator of the event is Sherlene Ayala, assistant director of the Office of Campus Life. Below are the listing of the 2017 award winners.

The PowerPoint from the ceremony can be found here: https://issuu.com/leadershipatnjit/docs/2017_highlander_awards_powerpoint_-
The listing of the 2017 nominees can be found here: https://issuu.com/leadershipatnjit/docs/program_book_2017

The 2018 Highlander Student Leadership Awards ceremony will be held in May of 2018. Please visit our website in January 2018 to access application materials. All questions should be sent to Sherlene Ayala at ayala@njit.edu

Winners of the 2017 Highlander Awards

Michael Filippidis
Undergraduate Presidential Leadership Award

John Vito d'Antonio-Bertagnolli
Graduate Presidential Leadership Award 

Stefani Kocevska
Outstanding Student Leader Award 

Samantha Cacdac
Outstanding Student Staff Member 

Samantha Cacdac 
Lisa A. Pierce Rising Star Award

Abanoub Gerges-Ebaid 
Making a Difference Award

 SWE - Society of Women Engineers
Organization of the Year

AIAS NJIT - American Institute of Architecture Students at NJIT 
Organization of the Year 

NJIT Splash
New Student Organization of the Year 

Mark Arnowitz 
NJIT Student Club Advisor of the Year



    The 2018 Highlander Student Leadership Awards ceremony will be held in May 2018. Please visit our website to access applications.