Carla Anderson
Director of Public Relations
(973) 596-3434

Wednesday, February 3, 1999

      Press Release

February 3, 1999

General Magnaplate is Corporate Inductee

     NEWARK -- February 3, 1999 -- Inventors of air conditioning, the laser, communication systems for the physically impaired, strand reinforced packaging tapes, and specialty fluid control valves for the aerospace, nuclear, biomedical and chemical industries are among the 1999 inductees into the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame, which is hosted by New Jersey Institute of Technology. General Magnaplate Corporation will be inducted into the Corporate Invention Hall of Fame.

      In addition, the Inventors Hall of Fame will present "Inventor of the Year" honors to five others for inventions such as: hydrogen peroxide chemical technology for hydrocarbon contaminated water remediation and oil well stimulating and fracturing, a novel extrication tool for rescue, and optical fiber for wavelength multiplexing.

      Announcement of the 1999 honorees was made by Harry Roman, chairman of the Inventors Hall of Fame, and Eric Addeo, chairman of the selection committee and past recipient of an "Inventor of the Year" award. Roman is a senior consultant for the Public Service Electric and Gas Company and Addeo is Dean of Electronic Technology at the DeVry Institute.

     The New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame selects all awardees based on the importance of the problem solved by the invention, the novelty of the invention, and the contribution to the advancement of the state-of-the-art, commercial impact and the utilitarian or socioeconomic impact. To qualify for the award, the inventor must have completed a substantial portion of the work in New Jersey or have been a New Jersey resident while working on the project.

     Established in 1987, the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame promotes and fosters creativity, innovation and invention contributing to economic growth and improving the quality of life. The Hall of Fame honors New Jersey inventors and encourages recognition of New Jersey as the "Invention State." The Hall of Fame operates from New Jersey Institute of Technology, a public research university, where a marble "wall of fame" was established in the lobby of the William S. Guttenberg Information Technologies Center. Including the 1999 honorees, the Hall of Fame has inducted 90 individuals and 11 corporations.

     The 11th annual induction banquet is scheduled for 6 p.m., Thursday, February 18, 1998 in NJIT's Hazell Center Ballroom. Dinner tickets are $100 each and can be ordered by calling (973)-596-3435 or by writing to the New Jersey Inventors Congress and Hall of Fame, c/o NJIT, University Heights, Newark, N.J. 07012.

Hall of Fame Inductees

     Inventors who have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of technology and human welfare are inducted into the Hall of Fame. The 1999 inductees, hometowns and employers are:

  • Arthur Schawlow of Murray Hill, N.J. and Charles Townes of Murray Hill, N.J., Bell Laboratories/Lucent Technologies for the invention of the Maser and later the laser, a device that amplifies electromagnetic waves and creates a means for the sensitive reception of communications and for precise navigation.
  • Cyrus Bemmels (1912-1993) of North Brunswick, N.J., and Permacel Tape, formerly a Division of Johnson & Johnson of New Brunswick, N.J., for the invention of reinforced pressure sensitive tapes, commonly known as strapping tape.
  • Willis Haviland Carrier (1876-1950) of Essex Falls, N.J., and Carrier Corporation of Syracuse, N.Y. (formerly of Newark, N.J.), for inventing modern air conditioning.
  • Haig Kafafian and Cyber Corp., both of West Orange, N.J., for the invention of communications systems for physically impaired persons.
  • Morton Kreitchman (1923-1987) of South Orange, N.J. and Valcor Engineering Corporation of Springfield, N.J., for the invention of improved fluid control valves used in the aerospace, nuclear, biomedical and chemical industries.

Independent Inventor Awardees

  • Lisa Gable of East Windsor, NJ for the development and marketing of the "Strap-mate" accessory.
  • William Greeley of Maplewood, NJ for the development and marketing of an electric-powered bulb auger.

Inventor of the Year Awardees

  • William Hickerson of Hamburg, N.J. and Curtiss-Wright Flight Systems, Inc. of Fairfield, N.J., for the "Power Hawk" rescue tool and extrication kit, a transfer of military aviation technology.
  • Ronald J. Vigneri of Wilmington N.C. (formerly of Kinnelon, N.J.) for the invention and development of hydrogen peroxide chemical technology for use in hydrocarbon contaminated ground water remediation and oil well simulation.
  • Robert Tkach; Andrew Chraplyvy, and Kenneth Walker of Murray Hill, N.J. Bell Laboratories/Lucent Technologies, for the "Optical Fiber for Wavelength Division Multiplexing" (WDM), an optical fiber designed for very high capacity communications systems.

Corporate Hall of Fame Inductee

     Each year one corporation is recognized by induction into the Corporate Hall of Fame. The 1999 inductee is General Magnaplate Corporation of Linden, N.J., a world leader in the field of specialty metal surface enhancements for the last 46 years. General Magnaplate is invention-based and invention-oriented, continuing to meet a multitude of needs in aerospace, the home and industry. The corporation and Charles P. Covino, its founder and current chairman, have been awarded numerous patents and achievement awards for a multitude of practical applications, from the manufacture of Teflon-coated cookware to protective coatings used on equipment and parts of the Apollo and Viking missions. The first patent was for Covino's invention of Hi-T-Lube in the late 1950s to solve the jamming of speedbreak pedals on the Air Force's F-105 fighter plane that caused several fatal accidents. This new alloy shaped the direction of the corporation and served as the basis for wider applications in industry and aerospace. Covino's Hi-T-Lube landed in the 1998 Guinness World Book of Records as "the world's most slippery solid."

Advancement of Invention Award>
New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology

     The New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology will be awarded the 1999 Advancement of Invention Award in recognition of success in nurturing the development of science and technology within New Jersey.

     The New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology was established in 1985 to encourage the development of scientific and technological programs, stimulate collaboration between industry and academia, and coordinate activities of technological centers and business facilities.

     The commission is working toward achievement of its mission through programs that develop the state's infrastructure for research and development; enhancement of technology transfer from the academic research community to the appropriate business sectors; and encouragement of start-up enterprises in science and technology fields.

     The development of the state's research and development infrastructure is taking place through the Commission's Excellence Program, in its first three years has funded 17 major projects at New Jersey research universities. In addition, matching programs provide support for major federal awards in discrete mathematics and hazardous substance research. the commission's also provides major support for the New Jersey Manufacturing Extension Program, sponsored in cooperation with the National Institute of Standards and Technology and hosted by NJIT. the commission supports start-up businesses in science and technology through its the Technology Transfer Program, Business Incubators, the Early Stage Enterprises Seed Investment Fund, the SBIR Bridge Loan/Proposal Support and the Technology Help Desk.


{ Back to Homepage | News }