ASEE Inaugural Award For NJIT Chemical Engineering Professor


NEWARK, May 14- This spring, two New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) professors and one staff member will or have received national awards for their efforts to improve student learning and classroom teaching.

Angelo J. Perna, Ph.D. professor of chemical and environmental engineering and associate dean of Newark College of Engineering (NCE) at NJIT will be the inaugural recipient of the Robert G Quinn Award from the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), based in Baltimore.

The Quinn Award was established by Agilient Technologies and is given to an individual in recognition of outstanding contributions in providing and promoting excellence in experimentation and laboratory instruction. Perna will receive the award at the ASEE June 27 conference and exposition to be held in Albuquerque, N.M.

Perna joined the NCE faculty in 1967 and has received honors from professional groups and the school including the NJIT Robert W. Van Houten Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Allan R.Cullimore Medal for Distinguished Service and the NJIT Board of Overseers Public and Institute Service Award.

Another NJIT faculty member, Robert English, chairperson of the NCE Department of Engineering Technology, will also receive at the ASEE conference, the James H. McGraw Award. The McGraw Award, that includes a $1000 honorarium, recognizing outstanding contributions to the advancement of engineering technology education.

Since 1985, English has held many notable ASEE positions that relate to improving engineering education and technology education in the U.S. He chaired the ASEE Engineering Technology Division (1997-1999) and the ASEE Manufacturing Division (1992-1993). He was also active with the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET). He chaired the Technology Accreditation Commission of ABET in 1995-96 and was made an ABET Fellow in 1998.

"Working with ASEE boils down to students getting a better education," says English who has been involved with the organization since 1981. "We look at curriculum, laboratory development, and putting on professional development programs for faculty. We also encourage faculty to become involved with the National Science Foundation by applying for grants, reviewing proposals and serving on advisory boards."

"Being involved has given me the chance to visit other schools and see what everyone else in the world is doing, then apply some of those tricks in my own classroom," he says.

Eloise Matzko, an assistant to the dean of the New Jersey School of Architecture (NJSOA) at NJIT recently received an honorary award from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA). The award is given each year to someone who has helped improve architectural education.

"For 15 years, Elly Matzko has been the singular force of continuity and support in every NJIT undergraduate student's life," wrote NJSOA Professor of Architecture Leslie Kanes Weismann, in nominating her for the honor.

Former NJSOA student Gary Davis, who graduated in 1994, summed up Matzko's achievements by saying she was the one person in the department who always took the time to listen and to know. "When I had questions about the curriculum, or professors, or just needed personal advice," Davis says, "I would go see Elly. We all did. In fact, the most frequently spoken phrase among students was "Ask Elly!"

NJIT is a public research university enrolling over 8,200 bachelor's, master's and doctoral students in 80 degree programs through its five colleges: Newark College of Engineering, New Jersey School of Architecture, College of Science and Liberal Arts, the School of Management and the Albert Dorman Honors College. Research initiatives include manufacturing, microelectronics, multimedia, transportation, computer science, solar astrophysics, environmental engineering and science, and architecture and building science. According to Yahoo! Internet Life magazine rankings, NJIT has been America's most wired public university for three consecutive years.

Contact Information:   Sheryl Weinstein
Public Relations
(973) 596-3436