RESOLUTION TO AWARD HONORARY DEGREES TO STEPHEN DePALMA, SHIRLEY JACKSON, AND PAUL SARLO

WHEREAS by awarding honorary degrees, New Jersey Institute of Technology recognizes outstanding individuals whose accomplishments are of such excellence that they provide inspiration to our graduates, and

WHEREAS the following individuals have displayed the level of exemplary achievement deemed worthy of the singular recognition conveyed by the conferral of an honorary degree by the university, namely:

Stephen P. DePalma, Chair Emeritus of the Board of Trustees, is former chief executive officer of Schoor DePalma. The company was founded by Howard Schoor, a civil engineer, in 1968. DePalma joined the company in 1972. Schoor DePalma was an engineering and consulting firm with locations in New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania. The company completed high profile projects in the public and private sectors. Clients included the New Jersey Turnpike Authority, Delaware River Port Authority, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey and was engineer of record for 60+ local governments in New Jersey. When DePalma retired as chairman and chief executive officer in 2007, Schoor DePalma had 1,250 employees and 25 offices. The company had eight divisions – construction services, environmental, facilities engineering, municipal services, real estate services, traffic & planning, transportation, and water resources. In 2006, Schoor DePalma acquired CMX, an engineering and consulting company, and changed its name to CMX. In 2010, Birdsall Services Group (BSG) acquired of CMX. After he retired from CMX/Schoor DePalma, he started an engineering consulting firm.

Mr. DePalma received the NCE Outstanding Alumnus Award in 2019 and the Alumni Achievement Award in 2002. He is a member of the Colton Society. As a student at NJIT, he was a member of the student government and the Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity, was a recipient of the Pi Kappa Phi Award, and participated in intramural sports.

The Honorable Shirley Ann Jackson is the 18th president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, the oldest technological research university in the United States, where she has led an extraordinary transformation since 1999. Described by Time Magazine as "perhaps the ultimate role model for women in science," Dr. Jackson has held senior leadership positions in academia, government, industry, and research. A theoretical physicist, Dr. Jackson holds an S.B. in Physics and a Ph.D. in Theoretical Elementary Particle Physics, both from MIT.

In September 2014, United States President Barack Obama appointed Dr. Jackson as Co-Chair of the President's Intelligence Advisory Board, where she served until January of 2017. From 2009

to 2014, Dr. Jackson served on the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), and, as part of PCAST, was Co-Chair of the President's Innovation and Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC). Dr. Jackson also served on the U.S. Secretary of State's International Security Advisory Board from 2011 to 2017, and the U.S. Secretary of Energy Advisory Board from 2013 to 2017.

Before taking the helm at Rensselaer, Dr. Jackson was Chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), from 1995 to 1999. At the NRC, Dr. Jackson conceived and promulgated risk-informed, performance-based regulation and created a new planning, budgeting, and performance management process (PBPM). During her tenure at the NRC, Dr. Jackson spearheaded the formation of the International Nuclear Regulators Association (INRA), and served as its Chairman from 1997 to 1999.

Dr. Jackson is a Life Member of the MIT Corporation, and a former Vice-Chair of the Board of Regents of the Smithsonian Institution. In 2017, she was named Regent Emerita of the Smithsonian Institution. She currently serves on the boards of corporations that include FedEx, Kyndryl, and PSEG. Dr. Jackson also serves on the Global Board of Directors for The Nature Conservancy. She is a former member of the boards of the World Economic Forum USA (WEF USA), IBM, Medtronic, the New York Stock Exchange, Key Corp, AT&T, Marathon Oil, U.S. Steel, and Sealed Air Corporation.

Dr. Jackson is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, the American Philosophical Society, and the Council on Foreign Relations. She is an international fellow of the British Royal Academy of Engineering, and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Physical Society, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, where she served as president in 2004.

Dr. Jackson is the recipient of numerous honors and awards. In 2016, United States President Barack Obama awarded Dr. Jackson the National Medal of Science, the nation's highest honor in science and engineering.

Most recently, she was named the 2021 recipient of the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) Oersted Medal, the 2021 recipient of the FBI Director's Community Leadership Award, and the 2019 recipient of the American Physical Society (APS) Joseph A. Burton Forum Award.

In 2018, Dr. Jackson was awarded the W.E.B. DuBois Medal from the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University. The medal honors those who have made significant contributions to African and African American history and culture, and more broadly, individuals who advocate for intercultural understanding and human rights in an increasingly global and interconnected world.

In 2007, describing her as "a national treasure," the National Science Board selected Dr. Jackson

as the recipient of The Vannevar Bush Award for "a lifetime of achievements in scientific research, education, and senior statesman-like contributions to public policy."

Senator Paul A. Sarlo has a career in public service that spans more than two decades. He has served as Mayor of the Borough of Wood-Ridge since 2000 and served on its Borough Council from 1995-2000.

He is the Deputy Majority Leader of the New Jersey Senate and was elected to the New Jersey Assembly in 2001. Mr. Sarlo represents the 36th legislative district, which includes 15 municipalities in Bergen and Passaic Counties. He serves as chairman of the Budget and Appropriations Committee and is a member of the Judiciary Committee, the Higher Education Committee, the Joint Budget Oversight Committee, and the Senate Legislative Oversight Committee. He is a former chairman of the Judiciary Committee and the Labor Committee.

Senator Sarlo has also sponsored bills which reformed New Jersey's worker's compensation system, criminalized the illegal trafficking and distribution of prescription drugs, required schools to adopt bullying prevention policies, and upgraded penalties for identity theft.

Senator Sarlo is a licensed professional engineer and planner, and a certified municipal engineer. He serves as chief executive officer of Joseph M Sanzari, Inc. (JMS), a highway and heavy construction company based in Hackensack, New Jersey. The company specializes in site work, heavy highway and bridgework, and provides demolition, installation, and maintenance services.

Senator Sarlo received both a B.S. and an M.S. in civil engineering from the New Jersey Institute of Technology. He received the President's Medal for Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017, NCE Outstanding Alumni Award in 2005, and the Alumni Achievement Award in 2004. He also played baseball at NJIT for which he earned NCAA Division III All-American honors and was inducted into its Athletic Hall of Fame in 2005.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that NJIT will confer upon Stephen DePalma, Shirley Jackson, and Paul Sarlo the Honorary Degree of Doctorate of Science, *honoris causa*, at the May 17th, 2022 NJIT Commencement Ceremony.

Holly C. Stern, Esq.

General Counsel/Vice President,

Holly C. Stern

Legal Affairs and

Secretary to the Board of Trustees New Jersey Institute of Technology

February 10, 2022 Board Resolution No. 2022-15