RESOLUTION TO APPROVE SABBATICAL LEAVES DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2024-2025

WHEREAS NJIT's sabbatical leave policy exists to enhance the professional development and increase the research and scholarly production of Faculty by relieving them of their teaching and service responsibilities for a semester or an academic year;

WHEREAS those faculty members recommended for sabbatical leave during the academic year 2024-2025 will be enriched by this opportunity to immerse themselves in creative, scholarly, and research activities and will thus enhance not only their value to NJIT, but this university's image as well; and

WHEREAS the following individuals have submitted applications for, and are to be granted sabbatical leave for the Fall 2024 semester: Christopher Funkhouser, Ellen Thomas; and

WHEREAS the following individuals have submitted applications for, and are to be granted sabbatical leave for the Spring 2025 semester: Baruch Schieber; and

WHEREAS the following individuals have submitted applications for, and are to be granted sabbatical leave for the Academic Year 2024-2025: Eric Fortune, Wenge Guo, Christina Frederick, Anand Oza, Zeyuan Qiu, Raja Roy, Sagnik Basuray, Matthew Adams, Jay Meegoda, Murat Guvendiren, Nirwan Ansari, Paul Ranky, Mengchu Zhou, Marvin Nakayama, Frank Shih, Quentin Jones, Gabrielle Esperdy; and

WHEREAS the administration recommends that said sabbatical leaves be granted;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees approves the sabbatical leave recommendations noted below

Eric Fortune	Biological Sciences	2024-2025
Wenge Guo	Mathematical Sciences	2024-2025
Christina Frederick	Mathematical Sciences	2024-2025
Anand Oza	Mathematical Sciences	2024-2025
Christopher Funkhouser	Humanities and Social Sciences	Fall 2024
Zeyuan Qiu	Chemistry and Environmental Sciences	2024-2025
Ellen Thomas	Martin Tuchman School of Management	Fall 2024
Raja Roy	Martin Tuchman School of Management	2024-2025
Sagnik Basuray	Chemical and Materials Engineering	2024-2025
Matthew Adams	Civil and Environmental Engineering	2024-2025
Jay Meegoda	Civil and Environmental Engineering	2024-2025
Murat Guvendiren	Chemical & Materials Engineering	2024-2025
Nirwan Ansari	Electrical and Computer Engineering	2024-2025
Paul Ranky	Mechanical and Industrial Engineering	2024-2025

Mengchu Zhou	Electrical and Computer Engineering	2024-2025
Marvin Nakayama	Computer Science	2024-2025
Baruch Schieber	Computer Science	Spring 2025
Frank Shih	Computer Science	2024-2025
Quentin Jones	Informatics	2024-2025
Gabrielle Esperdy	Hillier College of Architecture and Design	2024-2025

Holly C. Stern, Esq.

General Counsel/Vice President of

Legal Affairs and

Secretary to the Board of Trustees New Jersey Institute of Technology

February 8, 2024 Resolution No. 2024-22