Research Staff Assignments

Office of Research

Atam P. Dhawan
Senior Vice Provost for Research
(973) 596-8566
atam.p.dhawan@njit.edu

  • Chief Research Officer for the NJIT Research Enterprise
  • Executive Director Undergraduate Research Innovation


All University (Research Domain)

 

Director
Eric Hetherington
(973) 596-3631
eric.d.hetherington@njit.edu

  • Director for the SRA (Sponsored Research Administration) and GCA (Grant and Contract Accounting)


All University (Research Domain)

 

Office of Research College Assignments

In order to provide the most efficient proposal and grant management support, the staff of the Office of Research is divided into college-specific task forces. Each task force has at least one person filling each role of ambassador, central office SRA contact, and accountant. For assistance related to proposal development and submission, faculty should contact their department’s research ambassador. 

For financial questions related to a current award, faculty should contact their college’s grant accountant.  Similar task forces are assembled as necessary for grants or programs outside of the academic colleges. 

 

Newark College of Engineering 

Ambassadors

John McCarthy (CEE, CME, ECE, and ET)
(973) 596-3247; john.p.mccarthy@njit.edu

Iris Pantoja (BME and MIE)
(973) 642-4483; iris.pantoja@njit.edu

SRA contact                        

Fatima Ejallali
973-596-5518; fatima.e.ejallali@njit.edu

Accountant                         

Darryl Rivera
973-596-5462; darryl.j.rivera@njit.edu

 

College of Architecture and Design

Ambassador                       

Iris Pantoja
973-642-4483; iris.pantoja@njit.edu

SRA contact                     

Jesus Novoa
973-642-4074; jesus.novoa@njit.edu

Accountant                         

Brenda Garcia
973-596-2945; brenda.garcia@njit.edu

 

College of Science and Liberal Arts

Ambassadors                     

Cristo Leon
(973) 596-6426; leonc@njit.edu

Felicia Margolies (CSTR)
973-596-5377; felicia.h.margolies@njit.edu

SRA contact                       

Nancy Henderson
973-642-5687; nancy.henderson@njit.edu

Accountant                           

Hattie Yeung
973-596-5734; hiumui.yeung@njit.edu

 

Ying Wu College of Computing

Ambassador                  

Sean Andrews
973-596-5352; sean.t.andrews@njit.edu

SRA contact                    

Jesus Novoa
973-642-4074; jesus.novoa@njit.edu

Accountant                           

Brenda Garcia
973-596-2945; brenda.garcia@njit.edu

 

Martin Tuchman School of Management

Ambassador                           

Iris Pantoja
973-642-4483; iris.pantoja@njit.edu

SRA contact                         

Jesus Novoa
973-642-4074; jesus.novoa@njit.edu

Accountant                           

Brenda Garcia
973-596-2945; brenda.garcia@njit.edu

 

New Jersey Innovation Institute

NJII Grants Manager         

Bobby Vadasserril
973-596-2941; bobbyv@njit.edu

 

Professional and Continuing Education

Accountant       

Brenda Garcia
973-596-2945; brenda.garcia@njit.edu

 

Center for Pre-College Programs

Accountant

Brenda Garcia
973-596-2945; brenda.garcia@njit.edu

 

Intellectual Property and Patents

Assistant General Counsel                

Sanjiv M. Chokshi, Esq., 
(for Patents and Intellectual Property) 
973-642-4285; sanjiv.m.chokshi@njit.edu 

Manager, Patents and Licensing

Sangeeta Bafna
Licensing Administration
973-642-4295; sangeeta.bafna@njit.edu

 

Undergraduate Research and Innovation

Administrative Coordinator

Angela Retino
973-596-5504; aretino@njit.edu