

A Message to Staff Members from the Staff Council of the University Senate

The Staff Council is pleased to inform you that Shared Governance at NJIT is moving forward with the official kick-off of the University Senate scheduled for September 1, 2014. The Staff Council was established to serve as the mechanism for providing input from the NJIT staff members below the level of director to the newly-established University Senate. The twenty-eight (28) members comprising the University Senate includes two (2) Staff Council members. The Staff Council Executive Board consists of the following members:

- President and University Senate Representative Tiffany Small, Senior Information Systems Analyst, University Information Systems
- Vice President and University Senate Representative Victor Passaro, Instructional and Event Support Supervisor, Instructional Technology and Media Services
- · Executive Secretary Peter Bartholomew, Information Technology Consultant, Technology Support Center

The Staff Council participates on all five (5) University Senate Standing Committees: Committee 1 – Committee on Finances and Facilities; Committee 2 – Strategic Planning Steering Committee; Committee 3 – Committee on Campus Life; Committee 4 – Committee on Information Systems and Communications; and Committee 5 – Committee on Human Resources. These University Senate Standing Committees will report to the University Senate no less frequently than twice in any Academic year.

As we move forward, Meeting Agendas/Action Minutes will be posted on the Provost's Office Shared Governance webpage (http://www.njit.edu/provost/governance/sharedgovernance.php).

The Staff Council looks forward to your participation and engagement in the Shared Governance process. Accordingly, please submit any proposed 'NJIT quality of life' topics which are not considered part of the collective bargaining process for Staff Council consideration as proposed University Senate agenda items. Current topics under consideration include campus recycling efforts, professional training and development, and parking/carpooling options. Please e-mail any proposed topics to your designated representative(s) listed by the end of August.

For the upcoming year, please see below for the Staff Council member(s) representing your respective vice president/executive level area:

- President's Area, General Counsel and Vice President of Human Resources
 - Xenia Thomas, Assistant Manager Employee Relations
- Provost and Senior Executive Vice President
 - Peter Bartholomew, Information Technology Consultant
 - Glenda Caldwell, Secretarial Assistant III
 - Victor Passaro, Instructional and Event Support Supervisor
 - o Genti Price, Administrative Assistant II
 - o Cynthia Wos, Assistant to the Chair
 - o Heidi Young, Administrative Coordinator
- Senior Vice President for Administration & Treasurer and Vice President for Real Estate Development and Capital Operations
 - o Conrad Corpus, Assistant Director Business Systems
 - Vanessa Cousar, Custodial Services Supervisor, Cleaning
 - o Eric DiFrancesco, Institutional Police Sergeant
 - Nakia Evans, Accounts Payable Supervisor
 - Raymond Grace, Assistant Manager Custodial Services
 - Bobby Vadasserril, Associate Director Grant and Contract Services
- Senior Vice President for Technology and Economic Development
 - o Sonia Henderson, Administrative Assistant II
 - Michael Liska, Assistant Director Sponsored Programs
 - Sean Vroom, Strategic Initiatives Project Manager
- Vice President for University Advancement
 - o Robert Florida, Senior News and Media Relations Officer
- Vice President for Academic Support and Student Affairs
 - o Maria Oquendo, Assistant Director EOP
 - o Karen Quackenbush, Associate Director of Residence Life

- Tiffany Small, Senior Information Systems Analyst
- Toshiba Stricklen, Business ManagerDenise Thomas, Interim Office Manager

Thank you.