To:       The University Community
From:   Donald H. Sebastian, Senior VP for Research and Development and Provost (Interim)
Date:    Friday, March 6, 2009
RE:       Nominations for The Constance A. Murray Diversity Award

I am pleased to call for nominations for The Constance A. Murray Diversity Award to be presented at Convocation, Wednesday, September 2, 2009. Constance A. Murray, who served as NJIT’s Dean of Student Services from 1978 until her death in 1994, was a dedicated educator and humanitarian who devoted her life to enhancing opportunities for all people, especially minorities and women. The award, named in her memory, is presented to individuals or groups within NJIT who have compiled a significant and sustained record of achievement in fostering diversity within the university community.

These achievements and evidence of leadership might include efforts in recruiting and mentoring women and underrepresented minorities – students, faculty, or staff; creating or implement programs that enhance mutual understanding among diverse constituencies on campus; and fostering diversity through research, teaching or publications activities that help all of us to better understand the intersections of race, gender ethnicity, and sexual orientation and technology.

A nominating letter should be sent to the Provost by Friday, April 27, 2009. The nominating letter should provide specific examples of accomplishments and achievements that qualify the nominee for the award. As no materials will be sought from the candidate, the nominating letter should be complete. An award will be made only if a suitable candidate can be identified.